We are the Johnson County Democratic Women, North and South

We are sister organizations, working together to engage women in politics and help get Democrats in Johnson County elected.

North ZOOM Meeting

Thursday September 1,  2022

Come at 6:00 to socialize or at 6:30 for the meeting.

This meeting is hybrid. Either join us at the JoCo Dems office or on Zoom.

Special Guest: Chief Judge Karen Arnold-Burger, Court of Appeals

Judge Karen Arnold-Burger is a graduate of the University of Kansas School of Law. She was appointed to the Kansas Court of Appeals in 2011 by Gov. Mark Parkinson. She was appointed Chief Judge in 2017. Prior to that she served as Assistant United States Attorney for the District of Kansas and Presiding Municipal Judge for the City of Overland Park, Kansas. She has presented programs throughout her career to judges, lawyers and community groups around the state and the country on a wide range of topics. She particularly enjoys speaking to community groups about how our courts work.

South ZOOM Meeting

Thursday September 15,  2022

SPEED DATING is a special event that begins at 6:00 PM. 

This meeting will be online only. Please join us on Zoom.

Candidate Speed Dating is BACK!

JCDW South presents all our candidates in their individual break our rooms, ready and willing to talk to YOU!
Come one, come all and talk to ALL YOUR CANDIDATES over a two-to-three hour event on September 15.

Starting at 6 (and ending when we’re done) each person can visit any or all of the ZOOM rooms in 15 minute increments. Candidates will give their stump speech and each of you can then ask questions. Then we switch and do it again!

ZOOM only as we have over 25 CANDIDATES and we all can’t fit in the office 

el Pinick District 121

2022 Endorsements


Johnson County Democratic Women is pleased to announce our endorsements for the November 8th 2022 election.

We endorse Democrats running for state and local offices who meet our endorsement criteria. If a candidate in your district is not listed here, it doesn’t mean we don’t support them. We want to see as many Democrats elected to the Kansas Legislature as possible to break the Republican super majority. Candidates who receive endorsements have joined our organization, attended our meetings, practiced their stump speeches on our members, and generally allowed us to get to know them well. If you stop by one of our meetings, you are likely to run into some of these amazing candidates. 


Kansas House Races


Pam Shernuk District 8

Dennis Miller District 14

Allison Hougland District 15

Linda Featherston District 16

Jo Ella Hoye District 17

Cindy Neighbor District 18

Mari-Lynn Poskin District 20

Jerry Stogsdill District 21

Susan Ruiz District 23

Rui Xu District 25

Christi Pribula District 27

Ace Allen District 28

Heather Meyer District 29

Courtney Eiterich District 30

Vanessa Vaughn West District 39


Keith Davenport District 43

Dan Osman District 48

Brad Boyd District 49

Mike Shimeall District 78

Courtney Tripp District 117

Mel Pinick District 121

Kansas State Board of Education


Shiela Albers District 3


Johnson County Board of Commissioners


Mike Kelly Chairman

Becky Fast District 1

Janee Hanzlick District 4

*We do not endorse for national or statewide elections, but our parent organization, the Kansas Federation of Democratic Women, does. 

About Us

Johnson County Democratic Women North and South are part of the  Kansas Federation of Democratic Women, which is part of the National Federation of Democratic Women


Our mission is to empower women to run for office and to support the election of like-minded Democrats to state and local office. We do this through education and training, but especially through donations to qualified candidates. Your financial donation to either of our organizations will go directly to Democratic candidates running in Johnson County. 

Donate Today!

JCDW South


Act Blue Link

JCDW North


Act Blue Link

Check out the Johnson County Democratic Party Event Calendar for more ways to get involved this month!